I found a few groups on Facebook - even one where parents work and homeschool, which is of course what I would have to do since I am broke and will probably be so for a while yet.
I got totally overwhelmed when I read the NYS regulations about homeshooling. Ack!!!
I want to give up the whole idea.
For clarification The whole idea in fact is to "hackschool" (See THIS post) by getting out of
There are quite a few things standing in my way - ya know - like the job and the money. But I am working on it. In the meantime, I am thinking about a tiny home, and homeschooling. And I am thinking I can't do it again. But I just read THIS. Here's an excerpt:
"The hardest thing for me was sending my kids to school but refusing to do the inane homework they had in their folders. It was a mixed message to the kids, which I tried to cover up, but in reality, it was a mixed life I was living: doing things that I didn't actually believe in.
The real reason I started homeschooling was that I didn't want my kids to know I had to tell myself a million little lies to send them to school every day."
And that is it. Exactly. I don't want to do stupid pointless homework with my kids after they (and I) have had a very long day. If I am going to teach them I want to do a lot of cool interesting stuff. Science experiments and roadtrips. Not rehash a book that my kid read in 45 minutes. She can read. I know that. And if you didn't have 30+ kids in your class you would know that too. It's the one thing I can guarantee that she doesn't need help with. So if you want me to do work with her let me do what I want. Not what you dictate. And that is never going to happen. So back on the homeschooling bandwagon I go.
Am I crazy? Nah - don't answer that. I think we both know the answer . :)

No comments:
Post a Comment